What Are Virginia Laws Regarding Medical Marijuana?
In Virginia, qualified members can access medical marijuana. However, patients need to get written certification from Virginia medical marijuana doctors. In June 2021, recreational or adult marijuana was also legalized. Adults who are over 21 years can now possess less than 1 ounce (28 grams) of cannabis.
The state has allowed adult users to cultivate less than four marijuana plants per household. In this post, we are glancing at the various laws that govern the use of medical marijuana in Virginia. Keep on reading for more insights.
Laws Regarding Medical Marijuana use Virginia
Cannabis was decriminalized in Virginia in July 2020. If a person is found in possession of up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana, the maximum penalty will be a $25 fine. However, the offense won’t reflect on the person’s records. In April 2021, the legislature in Virginia passed Senate Bill 1406 and House Bill 2312. This made Virginia the foremost southern state to legalize recreational marijuana.
It was also the fourth state to legalize cannabis through legislative action. There are other parts of the bill that will become effective on July 1, 2024. The retail sales part of the bill is one of them. This gives enough time for the Cannabis Control Authority to come up with the necessary regulations and framework to safeguard its use. The regulations are meant to oversee the cultivation, manufacturing, distribution, and retail sales of cannabis.
Being among the states that have recently legalized weed, Virginia also has laws set to govern long-standing issues around the enforcement of cannabis laws, race, and social equity. These measures include aiding persons and communities affected by the war on drugs. This is usually done by investing in a third of cannabis sales tax revenue and licensing preferences. The lawmakers passed these bills in a special session. This means that they must re-approve them in 2022.
Within Virginia, medical marijuana is regulated by the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. The board falls under the state of Virginia Department of Health professions. Adult or recreational use of marijuana in Virginia is regulated by the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority.
Where can you purchase cannabis in Virginia?
Registered patients who have obtained medical marijuana cards can buy cannabis oil with not less than 5 milligrams of THCA or CBD. A patient can also purchase cannabis oil with at least 5 milligrams and less than 10 mg THC per dose. Purchases are made from approved pharmaceutical processors. The Virginia Board of Pharmacy keeps a list of pharmaceutical processors who are approved.
Where can one consume cannabis in Virginia?
If you are on your private property, you are generally allowed to use medical cannabis oil. This is according to Virginia drug laws. If you have a medical marijuana product, you must seal it all the time to keep children, drivers, and passengers from accessing it. That is, if you are a traveling registered patient. Smoking cannabis flowers is illegal. You are also not allowed to drive any vehicle under the influence.
Where can you possess medical marijuana in Virginia?
In Virginia, it is illegal to possess any kind of marijuana product for more than 90 days if you are not a registered patient. Possession of up to 1 ounce of weed will attract $25. The reason is that it was decriminalized.
Registering as a medical marijuana patient
Before applying for registration, patients must first get written certifications from Virginia medical marijuana doctors. After that, you can apply for registration with the Board of Pharmacy. Patients younger than 18 years old can have their guardians or parents apply for them. If you are a parent or guardian, you must also register yourself. You can search online for qualified medical practitioners if you want to get approved.
Patients will have to pay an annual registration fee of $50. If you are a caregiver (a parent or guardian), the annual registration fee is $25. The certification is only valid for one year. When it ends, you will have to pay a renewal fee to renew your registration.
The patient also needs to submit copies of the driver’s license or state-issued identity card to prove their age, residence, and identity.
How to get medical marijuana in Virginia
The first thing that patients need is to visit qualified Virginia medical marijuanas doctors who will give them written certifications for medical cannabis oil. To find a medical practitioner licensed by the state, try to inquire from the Board of Pharmacy. After getting a written certificate from the medical practitioner, you can then apply for registration with the Board of Pharmacy. You can do this by filling an application form, paying $50 as a patient or $25 as a parent or a caregiver, and submitting proof of residency and identity.
If you reside in Virginia and you want to access either medical or adult-use cannabis, these are the rules that you need to adhere to. Even though possessing less than 1 ounce of cannabis is decriminalized, you will still need to register as a patient to access medical marijuana legally. Both patients and adults are allowed to consume cannabis in their private properties and nowhere else. You want to go into the cannabis business, and you will have to wait a little longer as the state sets up the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority.