Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in Illinois
While all states have certain mandatory guidelines regarding auto insurance coverage, the minimum limits vary by state. Below are the minimum liability requirements in Illinois:
What are the minimum limits in Illinois?
$25,000 bodily injury per person
$50,000 bodily injury per accident
$20,000 property damage per accident
Dairyland ® Coverage in Illinois
At Dairyland, we take pride in helping Illinois drivers meet their insurance needs. Here are some parameters of our insurance coverage in Illinois:
What is the maximum limit for bodily injury and property damage liability coverage Dairyland offers in Illinois?
$100,000 bodily injury per person
$300,000 bodily injury per accident
$100,000 property damage per accident
What liability coverages must be offered in Illinois? Can the client reject them?
Bodily injury and property damage coverages must be offered and cannot be declined. Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverages must be offered, but may be declined by the customer.
What are all the coverages offered by Dairyland in Illinois?
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury
- Bodily Injury of an Underinsured Motorist
- physical injuries
- Property damage
- Medical expenses
- rental reimbursement
- roadside assistance
- Special team
- Uninsured motorist property damage
- Towing and labor
- Creditor Deductible
An insurance rating is used in Illinois, but is not required.
Are SR22s used in Illinois? If so, is there a fee charged by Dairyland? Are they filed electronically?
In Illinois, SR22s are used, and they are filed electronically and free of charge.
What discounts does Dairyland offer in Illinois?
- advance quote
- anti-theft device
- defensive driving course
- various cars
- Full payment
- previous insurance
- Quarterly payment
Do you know the minimum requirements for auto insurance in Illinois?
Whether you’re a newcomer to this great state or a current resident looking for car insurance for the first time, it’s very important that you educate yourself on the basic car insurance requirements in Illinois before purchasing a policy.
Basic car insurance requirements in Illinois
States generally fall into two categories when it comes to insurance: “fault states” and “no-fault states”. Illinois is considered an “at-fault” state, which means that drivers will be responsible for all costs of the accidents they cause. All drivers in the state are required by law to have liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage:
- Social responsibility insurance is coverage that will help you pay for physical or third-party property damage resulting from an accident you caused. There are two types of coverage: physical and property damage.
- Uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage will take care of medical expenses for any injuries you or your passengers sustain if you have an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver.
It is important to remember that liability insurance will not cover your own costs for physical or property damage. Also, uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage does not include property damage.
There are also additional coverage options in Illinois, which include collision insurance, comprehensive, medical payment, uninsured motorist property damage coverage, among others.
What are the coverage minimums for auto insurance in Illinois?
A minimum of $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person and $50,000 per accident is required in the state. You are also required to carry $20,000 of property damage coverage. You’ll often see these limits as 25/50/20, and they represent the most your insurance company will pay if you’re in an accident and you’re at fault.
Motorists in the state are also required to have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, with a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.